Nurse Compact States


RN Compact State Map

Map Source: National Council of State Boards of Nursing – Nurse Licensure Compact

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to have one multi-state license, with the ability to practice in both their home state and other compact states.

Your primary state of residence must be one of the 25 compact states. Primary residence is determined by where you file your tax return. A nurse whose primary state of residence is a compact state will be issued a license by that state, meaning they no longer need additional licenses to practice in nursing compact states. If you are a nurse that lives in a state that is one of the nursing compact states, you can get licensed to practice in all states that are members.

  • Idaho
  • Utah
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • New Mexico
  • Texas
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Iowa
  • Missouri
  • Arkansas
  • Wisconsin
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Kentucky
  • Tennessee
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • Virginia
  • Maryland
  • Delaware
  • Rhode Island
  • New Hampshire
  • Maine

There are currently a total of 25 states that are currently listed as Compact Licensure States. A Compact State License allows an RN to travel to 24 other states on (1) license. If you are unsure if you have compact privileges, please contact a Go Healthcare Staffing Recruiter and they can assist you.

For more information, visit the National Council of State Boards of Nursing’s website.